that’s life

9 Mar

A friend of mine recently shared an article she read in O Magazine.  The article, written by Martha Beck, is called “Take a Load Off” and the tagline itself is enough to jump for joy: “…Beck hereby grants you permission to stop fretting, agonizing, panicking and otherwise losing sleep over things you can’t control.”

Hallelujah!

One line that stuck out to my friend, and that, knowing me oh too well, she knew I would cling to as well, was the following:

Instead of fretting about getting everything done, why not simply accept that being alive means having things to do?

Oh. My. Gahh.

Well, when you put it that way… Martha Beck’s a genius or I’m a total moron.  I’m willing to concede to either.  It is so simple, yet so great.  That stack of dishes, that pile of laundry, that meal to cook, that thing to buy, that errand to run: they’re not going away.  So, I can either roll my eyes every time I get an e-mail reminder to pay my monthly student loan bill (groan) or I can put it all into perspective.

Leave a comment